Published 6:47 pm Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Qualifying for municipal elections in Covington County ended as of Tuesday afternoon at 5 p.m.

The City of Andalusia has two contested races in the August 25th 2020 Municipal Election.

Incumbent Council members Will Sconiers and Kennith Mount each drew opponents.

In District 1, former school board member Joe Nix qualified on Tuesday to seek election against Sconiers. In District 2, political newcomer Michael Veasey qualified to seek election against Mount.

Mayor Earl Johnson, District 3 Council member Hazel Griffin, District 4 Council member Ralph Wells, and District 5 Council member Terry Powell are not opposed in their bids for reelection.

In the races for Andalusia Board of Education, incumbent Amy Dugger is unopposed in District 2. In District 4, local dentist Parrish King is the only candidate. Incumbent Tommy Wright is not seeking reelection. Members of the board of education serve in staggered terms, so members in District 1, District 3, and District 5 will be up for election in 2022.

“When I announced my plans to seek reelection as Mayor of the City of Andalusia this summer, Sylvia and I looked forward to visiting with each of you and asking for your vote and support,” Mayor Johnson said Tuesday afternoon. “However, when qualifying ended, I was unopposed. I am honored and humbled that the people of Andalusia trust me to continue to lead their city.

“As I said when I announced my candidacy two weeks ago, we have made a lot of progress since I first took office in 2000, but we’re not done,” the mayor said. “I look forward to working with the council to set goals for the next four years, and pledge that I will work as hard as I ever have for the citizens of Andalusia.”

In Opp, all seats on the city council will have elections, as well as the mayoral race.

In District 1, incumbent Chad Jackson will face Bobby Ray Owens. In District 2, incumbent Charlotte Hunt will face T.D. Morgan and Jimmy Rogers. In District 3, incumbent Gary Strickland will face Chastity Perdue Helms. In District 4, incumbent John LaVaughn Hines will face Mary Brundidge. In District 5, incumbent Skip Spurlin will face Don Childre.

In the mayoral race, Mayor Becky Bracke will face John Bartholomew and Foster Norris.

In the races for Opp City Schools Board of Education, Lori Stanfield qualified to seek election in District 5 and Merrill Culverhouse qualified for District 3.

In the Gantt election, Mayor Melissa Grissett has qualified to seek reelection, Willy Byrd has qualified to seek election in Place 1, Chris Gantt has qualified for Place 2, Lily Bonham has qualified for Place 3, Sheila Zamjahn has qualified for Place 4 and Glenda Winters has qualified for Place 5.

In Red Level, Mayor Willie Jay Hendrix qualified and remains unopposed. In the council race, Dorthy West, Joe Bradley, Donnie Griggs and Gail Lee all qualified to seek election.

In Florala, Incumbent Mayor Terry Holley will face Jeff Burlison.

In the city council race, District 1 incumbent Sylvia Wallace Patton will face Chuck Willis. In District 2, incumbent Gail Robbins will face Jimmy Carter. In District 3, incumbent Debra Inabinette qualified and is unopposed. In District 4, Sheila Franklin is facing Joseph Bobo Hunt. In District 5, incumbent Sue Mathis qualified and is unopposed.