PowerSouth’s Camaro King named AOPA Office Professional of the Year

Published 5:14 pm Friday, April 23, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Camaro King, of PowerSouth Energy Cooperative, was recently named Office Professional of the Year by the Andalusia Office Professionals Association (AOPA), and she will also serve as 2021-22 President of AOPA.

“I’m honored to receive the title of President and be selected as Office Professional of the Year out of such a great group of office professionals,” King said. “I appreciate the recognition from not only my peers, but my supervisor, Lisa Cravey. Knowing my work ethic is appreciated makes me strive to raise the bar and continue going the extra mile.”

King is an administrative clerk in PowerSouth’s Engineering department, where she has worked since 2020. She was announced as Office Professional of the Year at AOPA’s Annual Meeting on Monday, April 19.

In recommending King for the title, Cravey indicated King as a reliable person that enjoys a challenge and is willing to assist others.

“Even though she has not been with our department long, she is a valuable asset,” Cravey said. “We have confidence in Camaro — knowing that whatever task we give her will be completed on time, and the finished product will be correct and look professional. Her attention to detail is one of the things I admire about her. She also has an ability to understand new tasks easily.

“Not only is her work ethic superior, but she is a friendly person and a joy to work with.”

A panel of judges selected King as Office Professional of the Year. According to one judge, King stood out because of how she presents herself to others and her efficiency in completing tasks promptly.

AOPA is a group of office professionals who come together to learn and grow in their careers. It was established in 1978 as the Andalusia Secretaries Association, with a name change to AOPA in 2000.

Membership is open to anyone working in an office setting, handling secretarial or administrative functions, in Covington County.