Sawyer Brown, Joe Nichols bring hits to Opp’s Rattlesnake Rodeo

Published 7:30 am Friday, March 11, 2022

Headlined by country music artists Sawyer Brown and Joe Nichols, the 61st Annual Opp Rattlesnake Rodeo will be held at Channell-Lee Stadium in Opp Friday, March 25 through Sunday, March 27.

Events lined up for the three days include arts and crafts, unique food, live music, snake races at 11 a.m., 1 p.m., and 4 p.m., a greasy pole climb contest at 3 p.m., fried snake meat, and kids’ activities.

Gates will open Friday at 5 p.m., Saturday at 9 a.m., and Sunday at 10 a.m. The opening ceremony will begin at noon on Saturday.

Admission for Friday night will be free thanks to Horn Beverage. However, donations will be accepted at the gate and during the concerts. “100 percent of the donations received will go to Still Waters Adult Day Facility in Opp,” Rattlesnake Rodeo officials said.

Advanced tickets can only be purchased at Opp local banks: All In Credit Union, CCB Bank, and SIB Bank. A one-day pass is $10 each; a two-day pass is $15 each.

Gate prices cost $15 each for a one-day pass and $20 each for a two-day pass. Children under six will be admitted free. Military discounts of $10 for a one-day pass and $15 for a two-day pass will be offered at the gate with a proper ID.

Sawyer Brown gained initial fame from winning Star Search and the country-rockers have since enjoyed a long, hit-filled career. Their self-titled debut album was released in 1985, and the debut single, “Leona,” climbed into the Top 20; its follow-up, “Step That Step,” went all the way to number one. Their sophomore album, “Shakin,’” was another hit, producing the Top Five single “Betty’s Bein’ Bad.” “This Missin’ You Heart of Mine” went to number two at the end of 1987. The band would go on to have a string of hits in the 1990s, including the number ones, “Some Girls Do” and “Thank God for You.”

Joe Nichols is an American country music artist originally from Rogers, Arkansas, and released his first album in 1996. Some of his hit songs include “Yeah,” “Sunny and 75,” “Brokenheartsville,” “Tequila Makes Her Clothes Fall Off,” “The Impossible,” and “Gimmie That Girl.” Nichols released his tenth album entitled “Good Day for Living” in 2022.

The concert lineup for the Opp Rattlesnake Rodeo with times subject to change is as follows:

  • Friday at 6 p.m. – 55 South
  • Friday at 6:30 p.m. – Five Runs
  • Friday at 8 p.m. – Frank Fletcher
  • Saturday at 2 p.m. – Alice Nelson
  • Saturday at 3:15 p.m. – Lil’ Jimmy Reed
  • Saturday at 5 p.m. – 10 Mile Branch Band
  • Saturday at 6 p.m. – Sweet Tea Trio
  • Saturday at 8 p.m. – Joe Nichols
  • Sunday at noon – Andy Whatley & Co.
  • Sunday at 1 p.m. – 55 South
  • Sunday at 3 p.m. – Sawyer Brown