Taylor named ASWA 4A Coach of the Year, 14 county players named All-State

Published 11:00 am Wednesday, December 21, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The awards continue to come for the 4A State Champion Andalusia Bulldogs as several were named to the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s All-State team, including Head Coach Trent Taylor being named the organization’s Coach of the Year.

It was not just Bulldogs recognized as Florala, Opp, and Straughn each had players honored by the ASWA.

Andalusia High School had two of its members named to the first team All-State. On defense, senior lineman Cameron Johnson was recognized while senior offensive lineman Brody Stewart was also recognized.

The Bulldogs had two members represented on the second All-State team, with two more named as an honorable mention. AHS had two juniors named with quarterback Jack Lathrop and runningback J’Marion Burnette making the second team squad.

Honorable mention went to senior wide receiver Kaden Denson and senior Dorean Crittenden chosen in that category as an athlete.

Taylor is the ASWA’s Coach of the Year.

Opp, Straughn, and Florala each had players named to All-State teams.

Opp senior running back Terry Davis was named to the second-team offense while junior linebacker Nelson Hall represents the Bobcats on the second-team defense. Opp senior Gray Jennings was named as an athlete to the second team.

Opp senior Robbie Gafford was named as an honorable mention as a punter.

Straughn had two players selected. Junior defensive back Parker Black made the second team list while junior offensive lineman Jesse Ellisor was honorable mention.

Florala junior Rayshon Coleman was named first-team All-State as an athlete while senior Zane Weeks was named second-team at the linebacker position.