AHS holds 23rd annual spring sports banquet

Published 11:59 pm Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Andalusia High School celebrated its 23rd annual spring sports banquet last Thursday night, honoring the baseball, softball, golf and tennis teams.

The junior varsity and varsity softball teams were recognized along with their managers.

The Lady Bulldogs had a successful run late in the season, playing their way to the Class 4A south regional tournament in Gulf Shores.

Their season ended there when they lost to Dallas County, 5-2, in the losers’ bracket.

Andalusia’s Jessica Centner and Anjelica White were named team captains; Paige Caraway was named the offensive player of the year; Centner was named the defensive player of the year; and Kristen Finley was given the academic award.

After softball, the baseball team was recognized for its achievements throughout the season.

Under the helm of AHS coach Jonathan Rasberry, the Bulldogs finished with a 11-15 record.

In the first round of the playoffs, Andalusia lost to Clarke County, 14-7.

Andalusia’s Leslie James was given the three-sport athlete award, having played football, basketball and baseball throughout his career at AHS; Marcus Ingram was given the offensive most valuable player award; Brent Shiver was given the defensive award; Corey Morris and Dilan Manring were given the Bulldog award; and Chris Kelley was given the academic award.

The team captain was Andrew Veasey.

All seniors on the team were also honored with plaques.

The boys tennis team had a successful season of its own and was recognized for completing a winning season with an 11-2 record.

Stephen Darby was given the academic award; Mitchell Clark was given the Bulldog award; Mayur Patel was given the most valuable player award; and Jake Ricardy and Stephen Darby were named team captains.

For the girls tennis team, Christina Christensen and Charlotte Patterson were named team captains; Patterson was given the academic award; Christensen was named most valuable player; and Melissa Riley was given the most improved player award.

The golf team was also recognized.

Josh Atkinson was given the most improved award; Gillis Jones was given the scholastic award; Alex Short was given the lowest scoring average award; and Reid Taylor, Short and Jones were all named team captains.

Short made it to the Class 4A state finals in the individual category.