Pleasant Home holds annual sports banquet

Published 11:59 pm Thursday, May 28, 2009

Pleasant Home’s football, basketball, baseball and softball teams were honored last Thursday night at Blue Lake Methodist Camp for their success in the 2008-09 season.

Some notable accomplishments PHS achieved this year include:

The Lady Eagles softball team finished in third place at the Class 1A state tournament earlier this month, falling to Speake in the losers’ bracket finals.

The Lady Eagles basketball team advanced to the Class 1A south regional tournament in Troy.

The boys basketball team finished with a 17-11 record and coach Jerry Davis earned his 700th career win as a coach.

The Lady Eagles volleyball team finished as the Class 1A, Area 3, runner-up and participated at the regional tournament.

The Eagles baseball team was crowned the Class 1A, Area 3, champions and advanced to the first round of the Class 1A playoffs.

During the banquet, individual awards were given to players from each sport as well. They are as follows:

Football — Will Ballard (offensive lineman award); Ethan Soles and Josh Sutton (defensive lineman award); Stephen Davis (linebacker award); Frank Senn (offensive back award); Ethan King (defensive back award); Dominek Sims (headhunter award); Frank Senn (athlete award); C.J. Langley (offensive player of the year); Josh Godwin (defensive player of the year); Josh O’Neal and Evan Yates (rookies); and Dillon Roland, Dusty Lawson, Josh Godwin, C.J. Langley and John Caleb Sanders (team captains).

Boys basketball — Stephen Davis (best offensive player); Josh Godwin (best defensive player); Josh Sutton (best free throw percentage); Emory Rabren (best field goal percentage); Kody Taylor and Colter Poole (best 3-point percentage); Ethan King (most assists); Ethan King (most steals); Cory Sims (most improved); and Emory Rabren (Frank Ray Garner award).

Girls basketball — Mary Schwartz and Erica Bullard (most improved award); Erin Byrd (scholastic award); Erin Byrd and Ariel Gunter (best free throw percentage); Emily Byrd, Raven Woods, Ashley Copeland, Courtney Slaughter, Taylor Godwin and Abigail Kelley (extra effort award); Ariel Gunter (team captain and rebound award); Gina Davis and Kayla Woods (defensive award); Kendra Bryant (rookie award); Brittany Ward (3-pointer award); Erin Byrd (offensive award, steals and most valuable player); Gina Davis and Kayla Woods (assists award); Brentin Fuller (hustle award); and Erin Byrd and Ariel Gunter (Alabama All-State team awards).

Volleyball — Erin Byrd (best offense); Kati Reeves (best defense); Gina Davis (best hitter); Kaitlin Brookshire (best setter); Hannah Cotton (best server); and Gina Davis (best blocker).

Baseball — Blake Herman (Richard McCurley “Rockin Fire” award); Fernando Torres, Josh Godwin, Colter Poole and Blake Herman (batting .300 or better award); Fernando Torres (best offensive player);­­ Josh Sutton (best defensive player); Blake Herman (ace award); Kaleb Powell and Justin Holt (most improved); Forrest Greathouse, Frank Senn, Beau Grissett and Hunter Greathouse (coach’s award); Ethan Soles (biggest turn around award); and Sidney Newby (most versatile award).

Softball — Erin Byrd (most valuable player); Kati Reeves (offensive player of the year); Ariel Gunter (team captain); Brittany Ward (best all-around award); Gina Davis defensive player of the year); and Kayla Woods (coach’s award).