Absentee voters apply now

Published 12:00 am Saturday, June 26, 2010

Absentee voters from the June primary should know there is no automatic renewal for the July 13 runoff absentee ballots, Circuit Clerk Roger Powell said Friday.

“The law has changed in that regard,” Powell said. “Used to one would get (an runoff absentee ballot) sent to you automatically, but no longer. If you voted in the primary by absentee ballot and still wish to do so in the runoff, you must come in and apply for one.”

Powell said the law now states if there is 30 days between elections, one must reapply for an absentee ballot.

“I think people still aren’t quite used to the idea that the runoff is so much later than the primary election,” he said. “Citizens should just be reminded if they know that they are going to be out of town or who are unable to vote for the acceptable reasons, come in and get those absentee ballots.”

Anyone wishing to obtain an absentee ballot application can do so from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. A photo ID – “driver’s license works best,” Powell said – must be presented.

“Residents can apply for an absentee ballot and vote all in the same trip,” he said. “It takes about 10-15 minutes, and you’re out the door.”

Powell said this week brought a slow “trickle” of residents to the office to apply.

Deadline to apply for an absentee application is July 8; however, those who have yet to register to vote and wish to do so in the upcoming runoff must do so by July 2.

Both the Republican and the Democratic parties each have candidates on the ballot for the July 13 runoff.

Top races on the Republican ticket include:

• For Governor: Bradley Byrne face Dr. Robert Bentley. The winner of this race will face Ron Sparks in November’s general election.

• For U.S. Representatives 2nd Congressional seat: Rick Barber versus Martha Roby, with the winner later facing incumbent Bobby Bright.

• For Ag Commissioner: John McMillan will face Dorman Grace, with the winner of that race facing assistant agriculture commissioner and former Florala mayor Glen Zorn on the November ballot.

• For Public Service Commission, Place No. 1: Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh is set to face Stephen Evans, with the winner facing incumbent Jan Cook in November.

On the Democratic ticket, James H. Anderson faces Giles Perkins in the race for attorney general, with the winner facing Luther Strange in the general election.

Mallory Wilson looks over an absentee ballot application Friday outside the circuit clerk’s office. | Stephanie Nelson/Star-News