Johnson: Alligator Trot turnout ‘amazing’

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 21, 2011

The 16th annual Alligator Trot 5K road race and walk brought more than 240 people to the lake at Florala. | Photo by PRECISION IMAGE of FLORALA.

More than 240 runners and walkers from a nine-state area participated in this year’s 16th annual Alligator Trot 5K road race and walk Saturday at the Florala State Park.

“That was amazing,” race director Karen Johnson said about the turnout, which never had eclipsed over 199 participants. “It was really special to me that we had gone over.”

Runners came from Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Indiana, North Carolina, Virginia and California to compete in the annual race, which is in conjunction with the 141st Masonic Celebration in Florala.

Johnson said the race overall went really well.

“It was wonderful. Everybody was happy,” she said. “We had beautiful weather. People were even thanking me for the great weather. All the runners seemed to be really happy.

“I don’t think I can think of anything else to make it better,” she said. “The turnout was phenomenal.”

The 2011 overall male and female winners were Matthew Dobson, who won it last year, and Lisa Lewis.

Other race results, which include category and age range are:

Male masters 40 plus: Dave Hope. Female masters 40 plus: Connie Robertson. Male grand masters 50 plus: Theron Carter. Female grand masters 50 plus: Cheryl Wolfe.

Senior grand masters 60 plus: Anthony Johnson. Great grand masters 70 plus: Ferrell McDougald.

Additionally, a wheelchair category was inserted into the race, and Mackey Tyndall was the winner.


Runners winners who finished in the top three in their respective age group:

• Female 0-9: Teya Hope, Jayle Teele and Bailey Arnold.

• Male and female 10-12: Michael Houston, Zayne Livine, D’Marcus Purcell; Maya Hope and Allie Garner.

• Male and female 13-15: Dylan Scott, Micah Kemp, William Anderson; Anastasia Scott, Anna Greer and Abby Greer.

• Male and female 16-19: Derrick Foley, Nathan Hope, Joshua Hope; Erin Arrington, Juliette Yarger and Erin Walker.

• Male and female 20-24: Reid Tucker, Trae Bowen, Matt Stokes; Soalone Adams, Maryllyn Gilbert and Cayla Keys.

• Male and female 25-29: Michael Cunningham, Nicholas Lewis, William DeSchepper; Christine Luther, Laura Pryor and Sara Wilkes.

• Male and female 30-34: Ben Clark, Phillip Metcalf, Chris Jeffcoat; April Cobb, Rena Compton and Shannon Metcalf.

• Male and female 35-39: Mike Houston, Jamie Knight, Jason Adams; Kristina Bennett, Carolyn Houston and Aimee McMillan.

• Male and female 40-44: Bob Walker, James Cantrell, Rob Hickman; Valerie Hein, Kimberly Webb and Crystal Dillard.

• Male and female 45-49: Dale Thomas, Tom Yarger, Steven Hall; Nancy Parrott, Brenda Walker and Leida Bilby.

• Male and female: 50-54: Michael Radford, James Parker, Ken Williams; Carol Levesque, Susie Frazier and Debbie Simmons.

• Male and female 55-59: Mike Million, Greg Bilby, Marc Williams; Joy Kelley, Carol Space and Peggy Vardaro.

• Male 60-64: Pat Judd, Butch Houser and Richard Murray.

• Male 65-59: Winston Churchill Howell.

• Male 70 plus: Bob Miller, John Jackson and Billy Carmical.


The male and female overall winners were Jeff Stout and Corinne Spence.

Walkers winners who finished in the top three in their respective age group:

• Male and female 0-14: Alex McMillan and Sidney Rich.

• Male 15-19: Bucky Schler.

• Female 20-29: Kimberly DeSchepper, Nikki Stout and Jenny Smith.

• Male and female 30-39: Chris Bostick; Carli Linton, Valerie Hatfield and Jana Slay.

• Male and female 40-49: David Bagley, Hughey Poppell; Mellody Hughes, Christine Cox and Lisa Sasser.

• Male and female 50-59: Darryl Rice, Ed Leven, David Ramer; Sandra Prior, Saxon Poppell and Rose Campu.

• Male and female 60-69: Loney Whitley, Rick Simmons; Kathleen Morris.

• Male 70 plus: Dave Deruiter, Dave Finlin and James McDaniel.