Saints land 3 on All-South Division team

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, March 15, 2017

The LBWCC men’s and women’s basketball teams finished up their seasons last week and recently had three players selected to the Alabama Community College Conference All-Conference team.

In the men’s division, the Saints had a pair of players picked to the second team for the South Division.

Darrell White and Landris Horton each had strong seasons to help them earn the postseason honors.

The duo were a big factor in the Saints’ run to  the conference tournament quarterfinals.

Horton and White helped lead the Saints to a 12-14 overall record.

Darrell White

White, a sophomore from Fort Valley, Ga., led the ACCC in free-throw percentage shooting 85.9 percent from the line. He finished 18th in the conference with 358 season points for an average of 13.8 points per game.

White was third overall in 3-point percentage, shooting 45.2 percent from behind the arc.

In the conference quarterfinal loss, White had his biggest game as a Saint, knocking home 29 points in the 76-72 loss to Lawson State.

White came on strong over the last month of the season by scoring 20 or more points in four or the Saints final six games.

Horton, a freshman from Decatur, had a big season in his first year as a member of the Saints.

Landris Horton

Horton finished the season with 331 points for an average of 12.7 points per game.

The freshman’s 45 3-pointers was good enough for 17th overall.

Horton’s largest point total of the season was 31 against Lawson State in a regular season game during November.

Horton and White were the only two Saints players to start all 26 games this season for LBWCC.

Brittany Ford

On the women’s side, Brittany Ford earned a spot on the second team for the South Division.

A sophomore from Mobile, Ford hit 39 3-pointers and shot 30.5 percent from behind the arc.

Ford finished the year with 202 points for an average of 8.4 points per game.

Ford helped lead the Lady Saints to 8-17 season and a fifth place finish in the ACCC South Division.