LBW’s Blair, Mount named to All-Alabama Academic Team

Published 9:15 am Friday, May 6, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

LBW Community College students Garyn Blair and Megan Mount were named 2022 All-Alabama Academic Team members and received statewide recognition for exceptional academic achievement, distinguished leadership, and community service during the 2022 All-Alabama Academic Team Recognition Program at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham – The Winfrey Hotel on Friday, April 22.

Megan Mount of Brantley was also selected for the New Century Workforce Pathway Scholarship which recognized the most outstanding workforce-bound student from each state. Mount received an additional $1,250 scholarship. The scholarship is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Mount is enrolled in the Diagnostic Medical Sonography and is on track to complete the program as a registered sonographer in Spring 2023.

“I plan on graduating out of this program and finding employment at a hospital or clinic, getting to do what I love every day,” she said. “I believe that changing one person’s life at a time could essentially change the world, and that is what I plan to do.”

Mount serves as a campus Ambassador with many duties and responsibilities.

“I am forever thankful for the college and my ambassadorship for providing me with such a platform to connect with such students, faculty, and community members,” she said. “That is the part I love most about LBW.”

Garyn Blair of Opp will graduate LBW Community College with an associate degree in May. She plans to transfer to the University of Alabama and pursue a degree in elementary education.

Blair also serves as a campus Ambassador and as a member of Mu Alpha Theta.

“I love attending LBW,” she said. “I am confident that my experiences and opportunities at LBW will help me be successful in my future.”

The All-Alabama Academic Team recognition program was founded in 1995 to complement the All-USA Academic Team Program that is sponsored by USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, and the American Association of Community Colleges.