Andalusia BOE approves AES principal change

Published 7:30 am Wednesday, May 24, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Andalusia Elementary School will see new leadership in the principal’s office next year following changes approved by the city’s school board Monday night.

The actions of the board include transferring Brenda Johnson from the position of AES principal to the central office where she will serve as the Central Office District Coordinator. Johnson has served as the school’s principal since 2018.

Filling the principal vacancy will be Victoria Anderson, who previously served as the principal at Andalusia Middle School prior to the merge of classrooms with Andalusia Junior High School in 2015. Most recently, she served the school system as the alternative school coordinator. Current AES Assistant Principal Rob Mixson will fill the alternative school coordinator position.

“I appreciate Mrs. Johnson’s hard work and dedication to the students, teachers and staff at AES. She has been an asset to the school and the community and I know she will continue to be an asset to our central office,” said Superintendent Dr. Daniel Shakespeare.

Anderson said she looks forward to her new role at the elementary school.

“I would like to thank Dr. Shakespeare and the Andalusia City Schools Board of Education for trusting me to lead Andalusia Elementary School. I am thrilled and humbled for this opportunity. AES has great teachers and staff who strive to make sure our students achieve success, and I am excited to work with them. With the help of teachers, staff, parents, and the community, we will continue to elevate AES to one of the top-performing schools in the state,” she said.

The principal change at AES is effective on June 1.

Following are personnel actions approved by the board during two meetings, one on May 15 and the most recent on May 22.

May 15 meeting
Resignations: Jeanne Morgan as kindergarten teacher at AES; Condie Pugh as AHS physical education teacher; Aubri Morgan as AHS science teacher; and Haley Snider as AHS special education paraprofessional.

Status changes: Amber Campbell AES temporary third grade teacher; Valerie Tomberlin AES gifted paraprofessional; Melynda Wilkerson AES special education paraprofessional; Hollie Palmer AES behavorial paraprofessional; Kim Thompson AES sixth grade math teacher.

New hires: Heather Bates AES secretary; Marie Harrell AES special education paraprofessional; Jaylyn Parker AES third grade teacher; Haley Renfrow AES special education teacher; Dawn Ruth AES teacher to be determined; Tyler McGowin AHS science teacher.

May 22 meeting
Resignations: Melonie Moody AES special education paraprofessional; Pamela Peterson AES fifth grade English teacher; Michael Fox AJHS physical education teacher.

Status changes: Brenda Johnson move from AES principal to central office district coordinator; Victoria Anderson move from central office alternative school administrator to AES principal; David Keel move from AES sixth grade social studies teacher to AJHS seventh grade social studies teacher; Rob Mixson move from AES assistant principal to central office alternative school; Cameron Capps move from AJHS seventh grade social studies teacher to AES sixth grade social studies teacher; Sara Mixson move from AJHS eighth grade English teacher to AHS English teacher; Karen Jones move from AHS reading interventionist to AHS special education paraprofessional; Candy Parker move from AHS math teacher to AJHS math teacher.

Granted tenure: Stephanie Barrow AES first grade teacher; Natalie Hinds AES first grade teacher; Ashley Simmons AES second grade teacher; Matthew Mellown AJHS special education teacher; and Marie Smyly AHS art teacher.

New hires: Katherine Parker AES special education paraprofessional; Isaiah Thornton AES behavioral paraprofessional; and Antonio Gurley AJHS physical education teacher.