Fleeta beats Pleasant Home in County championship

Published 12:13 am Friday, December 5, 2014

2014 Covington County Champion Fleeta Falcons

2014 Covington County Champion Fleeta Falcons

The Fleeta Falcons edged out the Pleasant Home Eagles 27-22 in the eighth grade Covington County Middle School tournament’s championship game.


The Eagles started off the night shooting strong, and had a 10-8 lead at the end of the first period. Tommy Gingpho had solid first period for the Falcons, scoring 5 points. The Eagles Marvin Fantroy had 4 points in the quarter.


In the second period, both teams ramped up their defenses, and neither offense was able to make any shots, without being heavily contested. At the half, the Eagles held a slim 12-11 lead.


The Falcons turned the tables in the third quarter, with Brian Harrell making a clutch steal and turning it in to 2 points. The score by Harrell tied the game up at 15-15, and that is were the score stayed until the fourth period.


In the fourth, the Falcons’ offense really came to life. The Falcons scored 12 points in the fourth period to seal the championship game up. The Falcons’ Travis Floyd helped to seal the deal with a strong layup with 37 seconds left on the clock. The Falcons would hold on for a 27-22 victory.


Andeon White led the Falcons with 10 points. Gingpho racked up 7 points, and Harrell had 4 points.


“We played well, and we thought they (Pleasant Home) had an advantage after we played a tough matchup last night,” Falcons’ head coach Mike Buckelew said. “It’s hard to play back-to-back tough games like that. This is a super group and they have worked extremely hard.”


Jamie Hawkins and Fantroy each totaled 6 points to lead the Eagles in scoring. Deontrey Brown added 5 points, and Gage Hinson had 3 points.


“We just ran out of gas, and had a stretch in the fourth were we couldn’t score,” Eagles’ head coach Troy Turman said. “They got a four point lead and held the ball. You have to give Fleeta credit though, they are a good team and they did a great job. I am really proud of our team this year though.”


The eighth grade All-Tournament team included: Justin Peeples (Straughn), Kade Green (Red Level), Leroy Mitchell (Florala), Marvin Fantroy and James Austin Hawkins (Pleasant Home), Andeon White, Glenn Logiotatos and Tommy Gingpho (Fleeta).