• 61°

Dent, Wilson take top honors in ASWA 4A awards

The Alabama Sportswriters Association has named Andalusia High School’s Tyler Dent baseball coach of the year, and Ethan Wilson player of the year for 4A. Wilson also was named hitter of the year, and a member of the all-state team. Hogan Nichols and Jacob Cravey also made the first team.

The 2018 Bulldogs won the state championship in May.

Opp High School also had four players recognized. For 3A, click here. 

The Sportwriters Association’s 4A roster follows:

Class 4A

First Team

P: Brody Moore, Oneonta, Sr.

P: Jacob Cravey, Andalusia, So.

P: Dylan Teague, Hokes Bluff, Jr.

P: Tyler Robertson, St. James, Sr.

C: Hogan Nichols, Andalusia, Jr.

1B: Jaylen Childs, Saks, Jr.

2B: Brantley Riley, Dale County, Sr.

3B: Tucker Rhodes, Wilson, Sr.

SS: Daniel Mitchell, Rogers, Sr.

OF: Sam Kimel, Randolph, Sr.

OF: Richard Brinson, UMS-Wright, So.

OF: Ethan Wilson, Andalusia, Sr.

UT: Jy Lockridge, Cherokee County, Sr.

UT: Colton Clark, Jacksonville, Sr.

DH: Jackson Devaney, Oneonta, Sr.

DH: Jake Spivey, White Plains, Jr.

Pitcher of the Year – Brody Moore, Oneonta

Hitter of the Year – Ethan Wilson, Andalusia

Player of the Year – Ethan Wilson, Andalusia

Coach of the Year – Tyler Dent, Andalusia

Second Team P: Connor Moye, W.S. Neal, Sr.

P: Ethan Johnson, Cherokee County, Jr.

P: Andrew Norred, White Plains, Sr.

P: Blake Bennett, Haleyville, Jr.

C: Houston Edwards, Hokes Bluff, Jr.

1B: Logan Gaskin, Sardis, Sr.

2B: Skipper Snypes, UMS-Wright, Jr.

3B: Zach Roberts, Leeds, Sr.

SS: Braylon Myers, Oak Grove, Fr.

OF: Jacobey Hawthorne, W.S. Neal, Sr.

OF: Jake Ross, Sardis, Sr.

OF: Braxton Dopson, White Plains, Sr.

UT: Trace Bright, Trinity, Jr.

UT: Andrew Cronan, White Plains, Sr.

DH: Cade Stelly, Dale County, Sr.

DH: Hunter Revel, W.S. Neal, Sr.

Honorable Mention Pitcher: Chase Driver, Holtville, Sr.

Catcher: Sam Harris, Hamilton, Jr.

First base: Trey Dollar, Madison Academy, Jr.; Drew Beddingfield, West Limestone, Sr.

Second base: Brayden Buckner, Deshler, Fr.; Jackson Gantt, Tallassee, Jr.

Third base: John Rice, UMS-Wright, So.; Casey Baynes, Tallassee, Sr.

Shortstop: Grayson Evans, Alabama Christian, Sr.; Avery Moates, Wilson, Sr.

Outfield: Shaw Woodson, St. James, Sr.; Hunter Rhodes, Wilson, Sr.

Utility: Corrigan Thibodeaux, Thomasville, Jr.

Designated hitter: Camden Lovrich, Trinity, Jr.